Chemo: My Debut.

I was anxious before my first chemotherapy session. Although the pre-assessment nurse went through everything, I still was unsure regarding what to expect because it is like diving into the unknown. But when the drugs went into my veins I didn’t turn into a werewolf or howl at the moon, I was… fine.

Unfortunately, due to the TV screen being on the wall above me, I was forced to watch Loose Women. In an ironic twist (for me), they were discussing breast cancer, the statistics on how many are affected, talking about diet and how you can avoid getting it – not what I wanted to hear as I sat in my chair watching the chemo drugs go into my body.

When I finished, I felt ok but mildly nauseous. I thought all I needed was a cup of tea but I was wrong, because the nausea and the fatigue soon set in and made themselves at home. The vomiting and general shitty feeling lasted a few days but the nausea was much longer, coming and going in waves for two weeks. Honestly, it felt like it would never end.

My appetite disappeared for several days, so meals that I would practically inhale within minutes now took me half an hour to eat. Then, I would feel terrible again and bring it all up.

My diet now is like that of a pregnant woman. I have to avoid certain foods such as:

  • Unpasteurised milk (meaning certain cheeses such as Brie and Stilton are a no-go. I love cheese but am not a fan of those kinds so I was ok with this but, to be on the safe side, I’m avoiding other cheeses such as Camembert, feta and mozzarella. These are classed as ok but I’d rather steer clear of them).
  • Raw egg
  • Raw fish
  • Yogurt
  • Live bacteria-based products
  • Ice cream straight from the van – so no more Mr Whippy (just as well it’s Autumn, otherwise I’d be gutted).

Just when I thought I’d got over the worst of the fatigue during cycle one, it decided to play tricks on me. One morning (two weeks after my first session), I woke up feeling like I had a fight with Anthony Joshua. I was so ridiculously tired; my energy levels were non-existent and I felt rundown.

My body told me to go back to bed and even though I told myself not to fight the fatigue, I had only got up a few hours before, so I thought going back to sleep would not help. But I gave in and told myself I would have an hour-long nap. Well, one hour turned into three, but it did me the world of good and I felt more energetic afterwards.

Cycle one is almost done and I’m preparing for the second one. I’m guessing that this cycle has done its job and the next one will build on top of that, destroying any cancer cells potentially lurking within me, but it also means more of other things. More fatigue! More hair loss! More nausea! All I can do is wait and see.

Leave a comment